String Quartet No.1

Instrumentation: String Quartet (2 Vln., Vla., Vcl.)

Duration: 5:30min


This is my first String Quartet, written when I turned 13.

This piece only has one movement starting off as a solemn march beginning in the cello then working its way up to the first violin. The piece then smoothly shifts to triple meter with a much more complex texture. Arpeggiations become more and more prominent freeing up the tensions brought by the metrically strong march of the opening.  Through harmonic progression the piece gradually shifts to the major with arpeggiations disintegrating and releasing a majestic rising and falling melody. The listener is once again reunited with the march theme but this time it is displayed in a much more triumphant manner closing the piece. 

This piece was written for Vancouver ProMusica's Sonic Boom Festival which it premiered in 2010. This piece was also performed by UBC players in the Contemporary Players Concert that same year.


Performers: UBC Contemporary Players Ensemble 2010

© 2010, Adam Zolty 

© 2019 by Adam Zolty

  • Facebook Clean Grey